Something Like Sound

Tag: Colorado Sounds

Something Like Sound Presents: Colorado Sounds Volume 2

by on Feb.23, 2011, under Blogs, Downloads

(click cover to download)

In late 2009 Something Like Sound released Colorado Sounds, a compilation of music from the Centennial State. Two years later Colorado Sounds Volume 2 is making its debut with an expanded roster and greater diversity of sound. The new release comes just weeks before Denver bands and fans swarm Austin, TX for the annual SXSW conference (where download cards for this free compilation will be liberally distributed). Curator Tim Weilert designed this project with one goal in mind: expose people everywhere to the quality and uniqueness of modern music in Colorado.


  1. Dan Craig – Enough – from Alchemy
  2. Gregory Alan Isakov – Evelyn – from This Empty Northern Hemisphere
  3. John Common & Blinding Flashes of Light– In My Neighborhood – from Beautiful Empty
  4. The Raven and the Writing Desk – Space Grenade – from RECIDIVIST
  5. Flashbulb Fires – Revenge Song – from Glory
  6. The Knew – Yellow Moon – previously unreleased
  7. Monroe Monroe – Ready The Fall – from Love Wins EP
  8. American Tomahawk – Sunshine People – from Contradictions, Generalities, and Future Criminals
  9. Fingers of the Sun – In My Basement – previously unreleased
  10. Amazing Twin – Naked Girl, Pt. 2 – from New Wives’ Tale
  11. Makeout Point – Don’t Drown Me, Please – from Don’t Look Up
  12. Safe Boating Is No Accident – Who Will Marry You? – from Isn’t It Fun?
  13. Thrifty Astronaut – Middleclass Suburban Teenager Blues – from Caffeine Heartache
  14. I Am The Dot – We Have Not Arrived – from Bridges EP & A Collection of Songs (2008-2010)
  15. FLASHLIGHTS – More Sunlight – from FLASHLIGHTS EP
  16. Fellow Citizens – Cincinnati – from Fellow Citizens
  17. The Biz – Infinite Light – from The Ancient Future
  18. PANAL S.A. DE C.V. – You Knew I Was A Snake – from You Knew I Was A Snake Single
  19. At The Forefront – Till I Find You – previously unreleased
  20. Tjutjuna – Mosquito Hawk – from Tjutjuna

Leave a Comment :, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , more...

A call for submissions: CO Sounds 2

by on Oct.15, 2010, under Blogs

Last year in late October we released our first compilation Colorado Sounds and saw a great response from it (several hundred downloads and 100 physical cassette mixtapes). It’s October yet again and my tape equipment is far better than it was previously, so I’m considering doing another compilation. Unlike last time, I’m opening this up for submissions because the tapes can hold 90 minutes (and that’s a lot of time to fill). For consideration please comment on this post or email

Leave a Comment : more...

Oh yeah, CO Sounds tapes available…

by on Jul.15, 2010, under Blogs

This is a case of “Oh yeah, I totally forgot about that.” A while back Something Like Sound curated a compilation of Colorado musicians and called it Colorado Sounds. When I sent out the initial press release there were promises of cassette mixtape versions of the comp.

The tapes have actually been done since about last December and alot of them have already been distributed to the bands and various other random people. If you’d like to get a copy of the hand-made Colorado Sounds cassette tape head over to the Buckingham Pie Group webstore.

Each tape also includes 45 minutes of unique and random jazz music recorded off the radio in either New York City or Minneapolis during the late 1980′s (don’t ask).

The tapes are free, just pay $2 for shipping (and 1 cent, because they won’t let us sell them for free). While you’re there consider picking up a copy of I Am The Dot’s Rare Creatures EP. Both tapes are an excellent addition to any cassette collection.

Download Colorado Sounds | Get a tape

Leave a Comment :, , more...

Something Like Sound Presents: Colorado Sounds

by on Oct.31, 2009, under Blogs, Downloads

When classes ended at the Colorado School of Mines in May of 2009 we got a wild idea: let’s curate a compilation of our favorite local acts and give it away for free! Over the span of 6 months we managed to gather a group of songs that reflect the diversity and quality of the Denver music scene. It is my hope that everyone can find a track that they enjoy on this compilation and discover something wonderful and new. Please support the artists who contributed by purchasing their music and attending their concerts.

Track List

1. The Photo Atlas – “Jealous Teeth”

2. The Epilogues – “King Arthur”

3. Dualistics – “Last Call”

4. The Heyday – “Come In Or Stay Out”

5. Red Fox Run – “Remembering”

6. Young Coyotes – “When I Was In The Fire”

7. Houses – “We’re Alright”

8. Hello Kavita – “Sunday (It’s A Chrome Tide)”

9. Rob Drabkin – “Sweet Things”

10. Danielle Ate The Sandwich – “Handsome Girl”

11. Paper Bird – “St. Louis”


1 Comment :, , , , , , , , , , more...

Coming Soon to an Internet Near You…

by on Aug.08, 2009, under Blogs

I know I’m lame. After straining my knees [successfully] summiting Longs Peak on Wednesday, I didn’t feel much like going out on this lovely Friday night. Instead I stayed home and worked on the album art for our upcoming compilation, now titled “Colorado Sounds.”

This is the first revision, I will add in an artist list and the new OrediggeRecords logo later (once it gets drawn up). If everything keeps going as it has been (and I get all the usage agreements in soon), we’ll release this baby for FREE on September 4, 2009 (with physical copies available at the Celebration of Mines and digital downloads right here).

Leave a Comment :, more...

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!