Something Like Sound

Tag: The Raven & The Writing Desk

Something Like Sound Presents: Colorado Sounds Volume 2

by on Feb.23, 2011, under Blogs, Downloads

(click cover to download)

In late 2009 Something Like Sound released Colorado Sounds, a compilation of music from the Centennial State. Two years later Colorado Sounds Volume 2 is making its debut with an expanded roster and greater diversity of sound. The new release comes just weeks before Denver bands and fans swarm Austin, TX for the annual SXSW conference (where download cards for this free compilation will be liberally distributed). Curator Tim Weilert designed this project with one goal in mind: expose people everywhere to the quality and uniqueness of modern music in Colorado.


  1. Dan Craig – Enough – from Alchemy
  2. Gregory Alan Isakov – Evelyn – from This Empty Northern Hemisphere
  3. John Common & Blinding Flashes of Light– In My Neighborhood – from Beautiful Empty
  4. The Raven and the Writing Desk – Space Grenade – from RECIDIVIST
  5. Flashbulb Fires – Revenge Song – from Glory
  6. The Knew – Yellow Moon – previously unreleased
  7. Monroe Monroe – Ready The Fall – from Love Wins EP
  8. American Tomahawk – Sunshine People – from Contradictions, Generalities, and Future Criminals
  9. Fingers of the Sun – In My Basement – previously unreleased
  10. Amazing Twin – Naked Girl, Pt. 2 – from New Wives’ Tale
  11. Makeout Point – Don’t Drown Me, Please – from Don’t Look Up
  12. Safe Boating Is No Accident – Who Will Marry You? – from Isn’t It Fun?
  13. Thrifty Astronaut – Middleclass Suburban Teenager Blues – from Caffeine Heartache
  14. I Am The Dot – We Have Not Arrived – from Bridges EP & A Collection of Songs (2008-2010)
  15. FLASHLIGHTS – More Sunlight – from FLASHLIGHTS EP
  16. Fellow Citizens – Cincinnati – from Fellow Citizens
  17. The Biz – Infinite Light – from The Ancient Future
  18. PANAL S.A. DE C.V. – You Knew I Was A Snake – from You Knew I Was A Snake Single
  19. At The Forefront – Till I Find You – previously unreleased
  20. Tjutjuna – Mosquito Hawk – from Tjutjuna

Leave a Comment :, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , more...

The Raven & The Writing Desk: RECIDIVIST

by on Jan.08, 2011, under Album Reviews

Recidivism is a state of repetitive, habitual criminal behavior. While RECIDIVIST, the new record from The Raven & The Writing Desk, may not address civil crime, it instead focuses more on the relapse of emotion into former habits. “Space Grenade” cries out “Save me again!” as the protagonist pushes into issues of control and desire.Throughout the record a thread of nostalgia winds its way through songs such as “Walk in the Water.”

Musically speaking, RECIDIVIST doesn’t take any large strides outside of traditional piano-based pop music, however it does manage to artfully provide a folksy frame for female vocals and well-thought lyrics. Julia LiBassi’s voice initially reminded me of Dolores O’Riordan (The Cranberries), although upon further listening it is clear that LiBassi’s vocals have a unique soft charm. A prime example of the vocal talent represented by The Raven & The Writing Desk comes in the form of “Firefly,” a song with rather minimal instrumental backing and a generous amount of beautifully matched voices.

Stream “Space Grenade” below and catch The Raven & The Writing Desk live at the Walnut Room on January 13 and February 10. Click for more from The Raven & The Writing Desk.

Leave a Comment :, more...

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!